Submittable now lets organizations choose if they want to allow their submitters to work on submission drafts in collaboration. If organizations allow this you will see an option to Invite Collaborators to the right of an opportunity's title.

Click on Invite Collaborators. A Dialog box will appear, asking you to enter the email addresses of your collaborators. Enter those addresses, then click Invite.

Invited collaborators will receive an email, letting them know you've invited them to collaborate on a draft submission using Submittable.

After you've sent invitations to collaborate, you can click on the Invite Collaborators link again anytime to see the status of your invitations. In the row for each invitee who has not yet accepted their invitation, you will see a Pending indication. There will also be a trash can next to each person’s name so that the Submission Owner can remove anyone that they no longer want collaborating on the submission. Note: the Submission Owner is the user who has sent invitations, and will be the only user who can submit the application after it is completed by the group.

Once one or more collaborators click on the link in the invitation email to start collaborating, they will either be asked to create an account (if they do not have a Submittable account), be asked to sign in (if they already have a Submittable account), or be automatically signed into their account (if they are already logged into Submittable in another tab).

After a collaborator has signed up/logged into Submittable, they can join the same form that the Submission Owner invited them to help complete. However, the collaborator will not see the Invite Collaborator link because they do not have the ability to invite collaborators. Invited Collaborators also will not see the Submit button since only the Submission Owner can submit a collaborative draft.

If multiple collaborators are on the form at the same time, they will see both page presence and field presence for each person. Page presence is indicated by colored circles that contain users' initials, which will appear in the upper right area of the page, beneath the Invite Collaborators link.

Hovering over these icons will show the person’s full name name and email address.

Field presence  is indicated by a highlighted border around each field that shows that a person is actively editing that field. Their initials will show in the upper right hand corner of the field as well.

As the Submission Owner and other collaborators start entering data into each field, each person who is a live user on the form will see the data appear immediately. 

If two people are working in the same field, the person who last enters any data last will have their inputs saved. The exception to this are File Uploads. The person who first uploads a file determines which file gets uploaded to a submission. For another collaborator to replace an initially uploaded file, they must first delete what was uploaded, then upload a new file. 

At any point in the collaboration process, the Submission Owner can click on either the Save Draft or Submit button at the bottom of the page. As with any submission, all required fields need to be properly completed before the Submission Owner can successfully submit.

A saved collaborative draft that is not yet submitted can be accessed by collaborators at anytime by signing into their Submittable account and clicking on the Collaborations tab on the right hand side of the tabs in the Submission List view. 

After a collaborative draft is successfully submitted, notification of the successful submission will be sent to all the collaborators. However, after submitting, only the Submission Owner will be able to view the submission from within their account.

Questions? Contact us at support@submittable.com.

 

Did this answer your question?