If you're a reviewer whose Submittable account was recently upgraded, or an administrator interested in knowing what reviewers will experience after an upgrade, this article breaks down everything you need to know.

The main takeaway is this: while certain aspects of the reviewer portal will look a little different, all the changes are intuitive and shouldn't result in any confusion. Read on for a detailed overview, or use the links below to skip to a specific section.

Jump to:

New Review Stages

Leaving a Review

Custom Review Forms

Yes/No Reviews

Shareable Reviews

Collaborating on Submissions

Editing Ratings

Updates for Administrators

New Review Stages

Reviewers will notice an improvement in the UI on the new Submittable. Reviews are now housed in a "review stage," so reviewers will see the stage name.

  • For Yes/No/Maybe Voting, the stage name for past or ongoing projects by default will be "Rating Stage"

  • For Custom Review forms, the stage name for past or ongoing projects by default will be "Custom Review Stage"

  • Moving forward, review stages may have any name as defined by the team member who creates the project. You may see multiple stages of review, as well.

Depending on their permission level, reviewers may also see the number of reviews, and any average or total scores. (See image below.)

Leaving a Review

Reviewers will now click the new Complete Review button in order to leave their review.

Custom Review Forms

Custom review forms will have an updated look and feel, summarized in the graphic below.

Yes/No/Maybe Voting

Yes/No/Maybe Voting ratings will also have an updated design, as depicted in the graphic below.

For submissions with Yes/No/Maybe Voting, notes will now be under the "Activity" tab, as shown below.

Shareable Reviews

Shareable Reviews is a new feature available following account upgrades which gives administrators the ability to share reviews on Custom Review forms directly with applicants. Distinct fields on the form may be marked as "Shareable." You'll know a field is shareable if you see the eyeball icon:

Please note:

  • Reviewer identities will be concealed from applicants.

  • Reviews will not be shared automatically.

  • Administrators may choose to edit your review before sharing it with an applicant.

Collaborating on Submissions

Collaborative Submissions are a new feature which allows applicants to collaborate on a collective application in real time. The team member who creates a project may choose to turn the ability for applicants to collaborate on or off.

You'll know a submission is collaborative when you see the collaborators names listed at the top of the submission detail page:

If you have messaging permissions, you'll be able to include collaborators in messages in order to keep everyone in the loop:

Editing Ratings

On the new Submittable, Yes/No/Maybe Voting ratings may be locked and not open to editing. If you cannot change your rating, the review stage is not open to editing.

Updates for Administrators

There are two important updates for Administrators (Level 4/5 users) to note:

  • On the new Submittable, you must be assigned to a submission in order to leave a review. If you wish to leave a review and do not see an option to do so, simply assign yourself.

  • On the new Submittable, a Project must enable editing reviews in order to edit a review. The former "Unlock" button seen by Level 4/5 users is no longer available. To edit your review, when editing is turned on, you'll now see an Edit icon next to your review on the reviews tab of the submission you wish to edit. To turn editing reviews on, from the Review Workflow tab of your Project, click Edit Stages, and then check the Enable Editing checkbox, then save.

Did this answer your question?