Skip to main content

Collaboration on Additional and Request Forms

Submitters can invite collaborators to Additional & Request forms.

Written by Pam English

Collaboration may be enabled by organizations on Additional and Request forms. If it's been enabled on one you received, here is how to use the feature:

For Submitters

Click the Manage Collaborators button:

Step 1: Invite

Add one or multiple email addresses to the field where indicated. Click Enter or tab to lock the entry, then click Invite:

  • Your collaborators will receive an automated email that contains a link to the form. They will be prompted to sign in to their Submittable account (or to create one, if necessary).

  • A pending invitation means that the collaborator has not yet accessed the form.

  • If your collaborators are not receiving the invitation, be sure you have the correct email address, ask them to safelist our notification email address, and check their spam folders.

Step 2: Email Collaborators

After you've invited collaborators, you can return to the Manage Collaborators tool to send a message to all collaborators, pending and accepted:

  • This message will go to ALL collaborators. No other parties can be included in this message, and no pending or accepted collaborators can be excluded.

  • These messages are not kept on the platform and cannot be accessed later.

FAQs for Submitters

Can collaborators submit the additional form or request form? No. Only the original submitter can submit the form.

What can a collaborator see in my account? Not much. Collaborators only have permission to see the forms that they have been invited to, and will not see the original submission, other forms, or any other information in your account.

How will I know when my collaborators are finished? Submitters and collaborators must communicate outside of the platform, except for the one-way message that the submitter can send through the Manage Collaborators tool.

My form's been opened for editing. How can I alert my collaborators? You can message them from the Manage Collaborators tool within the additional form.

For Collaborators

When you receive an email invitation to collaborate, click the Get Started button:

You will be prompted to sign in to your existing account, or create one if you don't already have an account. Once you've accessed the form, add your input and click Save Draft at the end of the form before you close it.

To return to the form, click the Collaborations tab in your Submittable account, then Continue:

Collaborators can view and edit the form, but cannot submit the form. After the additional form has been submitted by the owner, the word Continue will change to View and you'll be able to see the completed form.

FAQs for Collaborators

How will I know when the additional form has been submitted? Every collaborator on the additional form will be notified by email when the submitter submits the form.

How can I let the submitter know I've finished adding my part? Collaborators must communicate outside of the platform to let the submitter know when their portion is complete.

Is there a record of my communication with the submitter? No. A record of the communication is not stored or shown to the users after it is sent.


Did this answer your question?